Site update, feedback welcome


Good afternoon

I’ve been making some behind the scene changes and have just started to push these out to the site.

Site appearance

In advance of the new site logo which will be revealed soon I’ve changed the site theme to Piano Black, as anyone who has a WordPress.com blog will know you can only use the provided themes and, from the options available, felt this was clearer, in keeping with the original look and, well, quite nice in general.

Changes to the site pages

I spent a long time reading through all of the pages on the site and realised that it was time for a bit of a rethink.  I didn’t want to loose any of the users comments or content written by Divr or The Spak so have simply moved all of the pages to a new section called Archived Pages.

I’ve also published the first major new page to the site; it’s just a site introduction.  Hopefully it will give new readers a place to start and is also interesting to read.  If anyone notices any errors or omissions please let me know via the comments, help from everyone to make this site useful for all is much appreciated!

New guidance on the road to custom firmware will be added and updated regularly but I’m aiming for quality not quantity!

Updates

As you may have seen I now run a weekly news round up for each device, in this I’m providing a simple one line description of each firmware (or kernel etc.) to help people choose the right one for them.  You’ll be happy to know that I also read the news regularly and will send out additional updates as they come but I am not going to simply repost the content from the XDA forums.

Please let me know what you think, thanks!

3 responses to “Site update, feedback welcome

  1. Great work with the new look.. I’d appreciate if there were more screenshots of the ROM’s that are available so that people can actually have a ‘look and feel’ before porting onto the new ROM’s. Usually, the screenshots on the xda source links are updated, yet some are obsolete. (You get what i mean right..?) Videos would be good too..

    • Thank you for the feedback, it is really appreciated! I agree the screenshots on the source links are often out of date and even misleading, I will give it some thought and see what I can do. I don’t try out every release as I only have an X10 mini pro; now with the recent changes perhaps this is an area where site users can contribute? Yes, videos would be good as there is a YouTube channel for this blog that hasn’t been updated for a long time.

Leave a Reply

